Smart Skincare

IMG_1023

As I used to be an aesthetician I thought I would chat about how to make the most of your skin, no matter your age or budget.  Skincare ranges from a couple of dollars to thousands and if your not careful you can end up getting taken for a ride.  In this article I will explain what is important and what you can skip to make your skincare routine something that you can afford to stick to.

 

Budget:  I believe this is the most important element when it comes to choosing your skincare routine.  There is no point in buying an expensive product if you can’t afford to stick with it.  Decide how much you can afford to spend on your skin a month and go from there.

 

Basic Skincare Routine:  Once you’ve decided on your skincare budget it’s time to think about what products you want to use.  If nothing else use a cleanser and moisturizer with SPF. My favorite cleanser and moisturizer is a brand called Osmosis, which will cost you around $100 a month.  If that’s not in your budget then a reputable supermarket brand is fine.   Remember that its not so much what you use but how often you use it.  The next item I recommend once you have those two basics is a vitamin A treatment serum.  Vitamin A normalizes skin cell DNA that means that it corrects any problems you may have with your skin.  From there it’s up to you what else you want to purchase and use but those are the three basic products I would start with.

 

Salon Treatments:  I have always told my clients that I would rather they use good skin care products every day at home then come into the salon every other week so if your on a budget I recommend spending your money on your daily routine.  For those of you that have a bit of extra cash to spend it can be extremely confusing which treatment to go for! My favorite is the Omnilux light therapy as its great for every skin type and very relaxing.  If you’re wanting a deep exfoliation then I recommend a series of peels.

 

Don’t Hide That Beautiful Skin:  After investing in your skin don’t hide it from the world!  Some foundations have harmful chemicals, which can cause your skin to react, and breakout so if your going to be applying foundation after make sure it’s a good skincare makeup such as Jane Iredale, Osmosis or Bare Minerals.

 

You Are What You Eat:  the most affordable way to make the most of your skin is to make sure your eating a healthy diet, drinking water, exercising and getting enough sleep.  Looking after yourself can help most skincare problems. Essential Fatty Acids (EFAs) are amazing at keeping your skin in great condition and can help with breakouts, dryness and aging.  EFAs can be found in fish, avocado, leafy vegetables and some seeds and nuts.  If you’re having issues with your skin I recommend taking an EFA supplement.  I am currently putting flaxseed oil in my morning smoothie.

 

Prevention:  Be smart with your skin.  It is easier and cheaper to avoid getting wrinkles and pigmentation then to make them go away!  This means sunscreen and a good skincare routine.

 

If you feel I have left something out or want more information please comment or email me.  Now go forth love yourself, love your skin and be fabulous!

 

Leave a Reply

